Strode's College News


Annual Dance Awards Evening

Annual Dance Awards Evening
The College hosted the 3rd annual Dance Awards event in May. With students from across all Dance courses, accompanied by friends and family,  the College Dance studio was filled with a mixture of excitement,  anticipation and sadness as this was the last big event for many of our 2nd year dancers.  With a viewing of the Eclectic Fusion 5 performance the students were able to reflect on the hard work they had put in this year and share moments of reflection with their guests.  

There were a range of awards presented over the evening by a number of guests including Shams Puri (Dance Link governor) and Anne Fielding Smith (Principal). Ellie Burge (Dancer of the Year 2011) returned from Bath Spa University to make a short speech to the students about her experiences of dance study at Strode’s College and University.  The awards were varied and acknowledged academic and vocational achievement across the department from the student nominated “Miss Congeniality”,  Amy Robeson (a 3rd year student at Strode’s College), to Kelsey Murphy winning both the “Achievement in Performance” and “Progress in technique and performance of Contemporary Dance”. The “big 3 awards” of the evening  were….
Eloise Joslin a winning “Dance personality of the year”. 
Alice Bussey and Stacey Freeman sharing the “Outstanding Dedication and Achievement award”.  
Francesca O’Connor was awarded the “Strode’s College Dancer of the Year” 2012. 
Many of our 2nd year students have secured places to study dance or a related subjects at University or Dance/Drama college including Sabina Whitehurst at Performers College and De Montfort University, Francesca O’Connor at London Studio Centre and Winchester University, Chloe Turner at the Academy of Live and Recorded Arts and Mountview, Amy Robeson at Bucks New University and Hannah Wilson at Chichester University whilst other students are using their dance skills to progress straight into the world of work including Izzy Reynolds, Shannon Newman and Zoe Woodley. 
It was a wonderful evening celebrating the achievement and success across the Dance Department.
Dance awards 2012 3.jpg 

Created 7 years 55 days ago
Views: 5220