Strode's College News


Winners at the National Finals

Winners at the National Finals

Strode’s Girls Football Team had a perfect end to a dream season yesterday when they became National Champions. The game took place at Sutton Coldfield Utd, home of Women Super league side Aston Villa.


Strode’s College 4 – 2 New College Pontefract


Both sides looked nervous for the big occasion! Lucy Cook, top goals scorer for the season, dribbled in to break the deadlock.  However, their opponents soon levelled to make it all square. Charlotte Charlton, Strode’s Goalkeeper, was awarded player of the match after keeping Strode’s level for most of the 1st half with a string of superb saves, but could not prevent New College, going one ahead at half time.


Strode’s stood defiant on their return to the pitch and knew a one goal deficit could easily be overturned and this was confirmed when Lucy Cook hit the cross bar and Lauren Campbell followed up to make sure from close range. Strode’s kept up the pressure on their opponents and created many opportunities for shots on goal. The New College defence could not cope and a Lucy Cook solo effort made the score 3 – 2 with 15 minutes to go.  


A very anxious last period saw both sides come close with Charlotte Charlton coming to the rescue once again.  Strode’s victory was sealed when injured Abbie Wastkinson broke free on the left hand side and drilled a shot passed the goalkeeper to confirm a 4 -2 victory which made Strode’s National champions for the first time in their history.


Tor Linehan, who has been an inspirational captain throughout the campaign, lifted the Shield for Strode’s and rounded off what was truly a great day by saying.  “I’m extremely proud of the girls of how we have performed throughout the whole competition. Our fight and determination to succeed is one of our strongest assets and this was clear after bouncing back from 2-1 down to winning 4-2. We have always believed in ourselves and I’m so happy to have finally lifted the shield for Strode’s after a challenging but rewarding season”


What a fantastic result well done to the champion team:

1. Charlotte Charlton

2. Hannah Peterkin

3. Lillie Elsbury

4. Abbie Watkinson

5. Lucy Cook

6. Lauren Campbell

7. Victoria Linehan ©

8. Emily Bugden

9. Lizzie Allen modafinil

10. Ella Smith

11. Abbie Wilson

12. Hannah Swinburn



Created 4 years 82 days ago
Views: 5558