Strode's College News


Simply the best!

Simply the best!

To start the new academic year off on a high note, former students returned to College on Thursday 11 September to receive congratulations on their achievements during their time at Strode’s at our annual Prize Giving event.


The evening started with our Principal, Anne Fielding Smith, who was delighted to welcome back the former students to celebrate the “Class of 2014”.  The College was also delighted to welcome a number of special guests for the evening, including the Mayor of Runnymede, the Master and Wardens of the Worshipful Company of Coopers, the College's Trustees, Governors, staff and representatives from the College's partner schools as well as award winners and their families.


27 prizes were presented on the night with the most prestigious prizes being the Henry Strode Prize and the Tercentenary Higher Education Bursary. These awards are given to the student who achieved the best overall results in the College. This year, these prizes were awarded to Cameron Thomas, who came to Strode’s from Teddington School. Cameron achieved three A*s in Maths, Further Maths and Physics, together with an A in Chemistry A Level. Cameron will shortly be going to University College London to read Mathematics and Physics.


During the evening, six of our talented student musicians entertained guests with a variety of musical pieces and our very own Travel and Tourism BTEC students assisted with the hospitality for the event. The students’ roles for the evening included directing and stewarding guests on arrival, registering guests and VIPs, welcoming guests on entry, delivering food to tables and serving drinks throughout the evening.


The delightful evening was brought to a conclusion by Phil Radcliff, our Vice Chair of Governors, who remarked on the success of the evening and the level of talent and achievement from our students.


Cameron Thomas.jpg  coopers winners.jpg  martyn fowler.jpg  robert berning.jpg  roman tetradis.jpg  sophie hoffman.jpg  megan shutt.jpg  aidan parsons.jpg  lizzie turner.jpg  elena thornton.jpg  molly watt.jpg  jake doyle.jpg  nathan kent.jpg  olivia moulson.jpg  rajah nutakki.jpg  callum ward.jpg  mina webb.jpg  rebecca harrington.jpg  caroline barwood.jpg  JC Randall.jpg  luke de pellegrin.jpg  tom lynch.jpg  holly squires.jpg 

Created 4 years 306 days ago
Views: 5862